Christmas Awards 2011

Tuesday, 2 August 2011

Burning Skies

Burning Skies by Caris Roane

Publisher: St. Martin’s Paperbacks

May 2011

ISBN: 978-0-312-53372-4

Pages: 472

Seattle, WA – mortal earth, Phoenix, AZ – second earth

Marcus Amargi is a vampire warrior that has exiled himself to mortal earth. Unable to handle any more death at the hands of the death vamps he has made a nice life for himself in Seattle. Now he has a new battle he must fight and that is against the seductive lure of Havily Morgan. She is the one woman that has been created just for him and the one whose blood he craves. When she comes to him in his dreams he is completely unable to resist her and never does.

Havily Morgan lives on Second Earth and has had a good life but the one thing she craves is Marcus her winged lover. Havily has powers that are extraordinary and that will soon be put to the test. Marcus and Havily’s enemies are going to put them both to a test that will put the bond they share to the ultimate test. Havily is going to have to find a way to deal with her feelings for Marcus so that they can find a way to work together because only by working together are they going to be able to succeed in defeating those that would prefer them dead.

Now Marcus and Havily are going to have to find a way to defeat their bloodthirsty enemies especially when they start using a weapon that lights the night sky on fire. Marcus and Havily are going to have to use their passion as a means to fight their enemies or those they care about might be lost. The key to their triumph is going to lie in their passions and what they are able to do with them.

This is a wonderful continuation to the first book in this series. The story is well written and the words bring it to life. The world building is amazing and draws the reader in so well that they will expect to see it when they look up from the book. The characters will have the reader hoping they will be able to find their way to each other and that the characters will have their happy ever after. The story can be read as a stand alone will be greatly enriched by the reader reading the first book in this series first. This is one that is a must read.

I give this one 4-1/2 red roses

No comments: